Book Review and Giveaway: Parenting With Scripture by Kara Durbin

Parenting with Scripture Review | Christian Mom Thoughts(In the next few days, I’ll have three book reviews and giveaways for you! I’ve received these three books from publishers in exchange for my honest review. I have a copy of each to give away to one of my blog readers. Check out the first review below, and then read the instructions for the giveaway that follow.)

When I first received Parenting with Scripture to review, I envisioned a book that discusses what the Bible says about parenting with some practical applications for daily life – interesting topic, but not very unique; a book with this title could easily get lost in the mix of bookstore shelves. The downplayed subtitle much more accurately represents what this highly unique book is actually about, however: A Topical Guide for Teachable Moments.

Pretend for a second that you have an issue with your kids (I know it’s hard!) – something like anger, conceitedness, laziness, pride or stress. Imagine this: You now have a quick reference tool in which:

  • You find an easy-to-use two-page guide showing you how to handle the issue at hand (to find it, you simply flip through your reference tool, organized by topics in alphabetical order).
  • You find 4-6 Bible verses you can use for rooting your child’s heart in what God’s Word says on the issue.
  • You find relevant and Bible-based questions for discussing the issue at an appropriate level for kids.
  • You find action points to really drive the lesson home.

Sounds amazing, right? That’s what this books offers!

I love this book in both concept and execution. Although it’s designed as a reference tool, you could easily be drawn to read it page-by-page. In fact, there are many ways the book can be used:

  • Reference for teachable moments
  • Conversation facilitator
  • Topical devotional guide
  • Scripture reference for memory work
  • Prayer guide

On a side note, if you’re a family with kids of widely varying ages, this book is ideal. It could easily serve as a basis for discussion with kids in multiple age groups at the same time (e.g., for a family devotional). The questions and the actions are wonderfully applicable for any age.

The book’s author, Kara Durbin, says that when she was thinking about how to best parent her own children, she looked for a reference book that would have scriptures to use for specific parenting moments. Not finding one, she wrote Parenting with Scripture. What she delivers is indeed unique! I highly recommend this book for any Christian parent.

If you want to learn more about it, or order it for yourself, click here to check it out on Amazon (non-affiliate link).

 

Book Giveaway

 

I have one copy of this book to give away! To be entered into my random drawing, please do the following:

1)    Sign up to receive my blog posts via email (there’s a subscription box right under this post). If you’re already a subscriber, you don’t need to do anything on this one. (If you’re a Facebook fan, that’s great! But most people don’t see every blog post announcement on Facebook because it depends when you’re on and how many other things are in your news feed that day. That’s why I want to encourage blog fans to sign up via email! That way you’ll always know when a new post is up.)

2)    Enter a comment below and let me know of a topic you’d like to see me write about on this blog.

To enter, do the above two things by 6 p.m. Sunday, March 17. I will do a random drawing of entrants that night. Good luck!

30 Comments

  1. Susan Webb Moxley on March 8, 2013 at 1:01 PM

    How to deal with having a daughter who is costantly fighting with her brothers



  2. Christy Bowyer on March 8, 2013 at 1:11 PM

    I found your facebook page when looking for Christian Mom’s to relate to on facebook. I don’t like the trash that is prevalent on FB, and have tried to fill my ‘friends’ with Christian and Conservative sites. I just signed up to recieve your blogs via email and I am excited to read more of you bloggs. Today I printed off Why the Bible is wierd, part one. Bible study with my kids can be a little hum drum at times. I have a preteen son that is not interested in listening to Bible Study. I would love to read anything you have to help me with making the Bible interesting to my preteen son.
    Thank you.



  3. Teresa on March 8, 2013 at 1:16 PM

    Your thoughts on the use of Christian counseling (Both for myself as well as for my children) as a means of helping my girls through their difficulties (adoption, grief over the death of a sister, abandonment issues, etc.)



  4. Kellie Gordon Titchnell on March 8, 2013 at 1:17 PM

    Our daughter is about to turn 7 and we have kept her VERY close to us. She attends public school and it has had a huge affect on her. And now that we have moved away from our family support system finding time alone with my husband is nearly impossible. I’ve been blessed that my mother visits frequently so we at least get one date night every few months, but I am feeling we are entering a new season and finding outside childcare may be necessary. How do I handle this in a balanced, biblical way?



  5. Mindy on March 8, 2013 at 1:34 PM

    How to keep a balance between children and your relationship with your husband.



  6. paula on March 8, 2013 at 1:36 PM

    how do i address situation with my little girl and her friends being snotty to other children and include her friends in the conversation, without knowing what their beliefs are at home?



  7. Deanna Temple on March 8, 2013 at 1:50 PM

    I would love information on doing family worship time, organization, meal planning. I am a full time mom working out of home and then full time taking care of family. I love insight and appreciate your honest and candid posts.



  8. MatthieuandShaana Armstrong on March 8, 2013 at 1:50 PM

    Addressing issues for pre-pre-teens (7-10) that are “not a big deal” for the rest I the world. Dressing properly, “just joking” sarcasm and disrespect, etc.

    I love the blog, btw! Usually read it on my email (was already subscribed) and it gives great insight when I’m starting my day.



  9. Amie on March 8, 2013 at 2:19 PM

    How to keep my teens on fire for God ways to keep them centered when their friends and the world wants to suck them in.



  10. Brenda Brown on March 8, 2013 at 2:25 PM

    I’d like to see some information on balancing that drive to serve and taking time out to recharge.



  11. amy on March 8, 2013 at 2:36 PM

    This bok sounds wonderful. We have 3 girls ages 12, 11 and 7 years old and they fight constantly. I would like to have teachable scripture about loving others in an easy to use format. I want my girls to treat others the way they would want to be treated and to see others as Jesus sees them.



  12. Jodi on March 8, 2013 at 3:36 PM

    Serving others verses serving our families and finding the balance



  13. Shawna Fay on March 8, 2013 at 4:28 PM

    How about DVD reviews? It’s hard to find shows that are age appropriate and not out of line with the faith. For instance did you see the princess and the frog? I thought that movie was terrible for kids, but its rating would say its fine.



  14. Shelie D. on March 8, 2013 at 4:46 PM

    Hi, I absolutely love this website. However, I’d like to see more on blended families. I have a stepson and a husband whose isn’t a believer. So maybe some advice on being married to a nonbeliever would help too. Thanks so much!!! God Bless you.



  15. Marni Arnold on March 8, 2013 at 6:56 PM

    How to address the heart of the creative, vibrant, energetic, hard-to-calm-down, not-add/adhd, five year old boy? 🙂



  16. Denise Turner on March 8, 2013 at 7:31 PM

    I would like to hear how you and others handle laziness in boys. I have an 11 year old who is very intelligent, based upon school test scores and grades, but sometimes refuses to do his school work. He has always been a straight A student, but this year his grades have dropped. When asked about it, he can pick them right back up, so I know it’s not about the work being too difficult. He just seems lazy and thinks he can get away with not doing the work and still pass his subjects. Thanks for any advice.



  17. Sharon Nichols Young on March 8, 2013 at 10:28 PM

    Wow… I can so relate to the comment about engaging your (pre)teen – my son literally just turned 13 🙂 And the one about motivation too. I’m guessing that the application for engaging and motivating will look different at different ages; what works with younger kids won’t work as well with older ones, for example. But the principle is the same: You want the desire for the Lord to take root in the heart, and you DON’T want the motivation to be due to bribes, etc. Tough balance.



  18. April Furcean on March 9, 2013 at 8:59 AM

    Unequally yolked marriage and teaching kids about God when you are Christian when your otherwise wonderful husband and father to your child is an atheist



  19. Lauren Mulford on March 9, 2013 at 10:24 AM

    How about a post on encouragement. Specifically on how to keep your head above water while you figuratively feel like you’re drowning in responsibilities; babies, husband, work, housekeeping, God, extra time (lol). With no bitterness.



  20. Jennifer on March 9, 2013 at 7:44 PM

    I would like to know more about how you think faith should affect your relationship with your spouse, and if you think your relationship with your spouse relates to how your children see and emulate your faith. I’m not expressing myself all that well, hopefully you get what I mean!



  21. Chris Bohn Bell on March 10, 2013 at 4:02 PM

    I love this idea. So many problems come up and if I can give my 9 year old a Biblical reference he usually gets it.



  22. Jackie on March 10, 2013 at 9:43 PM

    How to keep a relationship with God when overwhelmed with daily life… Kids. And more than just praying for patience and help



  23. Ginger on March 11, 2013 at 10:52 AM

    RIght now I need encouragement in staying intentional and eternally focused as I raise my kids.



  24. amy bearden on March 11, 2013 at 2:16 PM

    I’d love to hear about preparing our children for college years.



  25. Nicole on March 11, 2013 at 2:20 PM

    would love to see a post about teaching your daughters how to have hearts of compassion and mercy. Specifically when dealing with people outside of your culture. We don’t talk about this enough amongst the body of believers.
    Looking forward to reading more from your blog. Glad I found it!



  26. Megan on March 13, 2013 at 12:01 PM

    Ways for a parent to nurture his/her own faith without having to try and “add” time to her already crazy schedule.



  27. Lisa medeiros on March 14, 2013 at 8:47 PM

    I love the variety of topics of books that you review! This book sounds great… And if I had just seen it at the bookstore probably would have skipped but your review make me see what a great book it is!



  28. Julie Heller on March 14, 2013 at 10:36 PM

    How to deal with relationships between boys and girls as the hit those preteen years….help!



  29. P. Vick on March 15, 2013 at 2:17 PM

    this seems easy for us newbies in Christ to use.



  30. Natasha Crain on March 20, 2013 at 11:56 AM

    Thanks so much everyone for entering the giveaway and the great ideas for posts! I love these. The lucky winner is Deanna Temple. Deanna, I will email for your address! Thank you!